Songs I Listen to at the Moment

you are what you listen to

Just like any other teenager, listening to songs has been a necessity for me just like food and water instead of a luxury. Music gives me solace and comfort during a bad day, provides me inspiration to keep going amid all obstacles and bestows me a profuse sense of freedom and self-appreciation when I start doubting myself.

My taste for music depends on my erratic mood. Most of the songs on my phone are either songs I heard while on a bus or jeepney or songs performed in the t.v. shows that I love to watch. I don’t care if a song is old or new or if it’s sung by a famous or unpopular artist. (I loved listening to “Yesterday” by The Beatles after being performed by Angie Miller on American Idol.)  As long as it passes my weird taste then I give it a spot in my playlist.

Here are the new songs that I love listening to as of the moment. Originally, this post was supposed to be “Ten Hottest Songs at the Moment” but I’m too lazy to make ten! Oversleeping sucks.

1.) Stay- Rihanna featuring Mikky Ekko

Barbadian superstar Rihanna proves that she can not only dance, flaunt her sexy body or  make headlines because of her turbid personal life; she can also sing her ass off. At this point of her career, it seems like everything she touches turns to gold. Unlike worldwide chart topping singles “We Found Love” and “Diamonds” among others, Rihanna brings one of her most subtle and passionate vocals in “Stay” featuring newcomer Mikky Ekko (who also co-wrote the song).

Oohh the reason I hold on

Oohh cause I need this hole gone

Funny you’re the broken one but I’m the only one who needed saving

Cause when you never see the light it’s hard to know which one of us is caving

The song explores the subject of a relationship on the verge of breaking up. Rihanna begs her lover to stay (the word is used as a chorus filler), even though she knows that it will not do any of them favor as she herself is not sure if she still loves him or she just feels the need of having him in her life just to get shun the feeling of isolation. It is also about the confusion and turmoil one undergoes in deciding whether it is time to let go of a relationship where you’re not happy anymore but still the guilt of wasting a relationship where you invested emotions, time and even money holds you back.   Sounds like her relationship with Chris Brown, doesn’t it?

I love the slow tempo of the song because it complements my “emo” mood while listening to it.

I must admit that I got a little sleepy when Rihanna performed this song in the Grammys some months ago so I quickly switched the channel. 🙂 But my continuous listening to it every night before I go to sleep made me appreciate it more. I think these “serious” songs that Rihanna sing more than her party hits which are merely sexual innuendos like S&M and Rude Boy.

I’m sure many people can relate to this “conversation type” of song where two muddled lovers answer each one’s complains and contemplate on whether their relationship is still worth fighting for.

I have this feeling most people will get bored when they listen to the song for the first time so I recommend you to listen to the song when you’re having some random heavy feelings about someone or when you’re intending to move on with a broken relationship or when you’re thinking of someone you know you can’t be with.

2.) Mirrors- Justin Timberlake

Most of Justin’s songs are like diaries or journals about the things that he feels for someone or something. Unlike his 2002 hit “Cry Me a River” which is widely believed as his response to her ex-girlfriend Britney Spears’ infidelity that cost their relationship, “Mirrors” is actually a happy song about his magnanimous relationship with his wife Jessica Biel.

And I’ll tell you baby, it was easy
Comin’ back into you once I figured it out
You were right here all along
It’s like you’re my mirror
My mirror staring back at me
I couldn’t get any bigger
With anyone else beside of me

I love the infectious hook of this song. It almost has that sensuality and allure of “What Goes Around…Comes Around” and “Sexy Back” although “Mirrors” maintains that wholesomeness in it. It is one of those songs that will keep you humming and singing in your mind even though you don’t know the lyrics so you have to improvise words to keep the song running.

Justin Timberlake has maintained his popularity and success not just as a musician but also as a bankable movie star. He’s far better than the other Justin who is so troubled nowadays.

3.) Done- The Band Perry

I learned about this song when it was performed by The Band Perry together with Janelle Arthur during the finale of American Idol Season 12 last week. I was pleasantly surprised by the rocker vibe that band emitted because I was still reminiscing their sweet country “If I Die Young” days.

Mama always told me that I should play nice
She didn’t know you when she gave me that advice
I’m through, with you
You’re one bridge I’d like to burn
Scatter the ashes, smash the urn

Just like Kelly Clarkson’s “Stronger” or Beyonce’s “Irreplaceable”, “Done” is also a song about dealing with a break up. But this song is different. It’s about handling a break up with a bang and a revengeful sense of inner strength.

Kimberly Perry’s, the band’s vocalist, vocals are so strong and snazzy. She’s one great country singer. I liked their first song “ If I Die Young” but I definitely like this song more. You should listen to this song when you feel like your ex sucks or when you feel like you still haven’t moved on.

4.) When I Was Your Man- Bruno Mars

Bruno Mars is one of the best and coolest musicians ever. He is capable of playing different instruments, writing epic songs not to mention that he has one of the dopest voices ever. He is my favorite male singer of all time. I mean, this man right here co-wrote and sang some of my favorite songs such as “Grenade”, “It Will Rain” and “Locked Out of Heaven”. His newest song is not an exception.

When I first listened to this song, it immediately captured me. I felt the repentance, regret and remorse that the singer is feeling as he sings those heartbreaking lyrics about how he wants to bring back time so he can change the things that he did wrong during his relationship with this girl. I always imagine singing this song while playing the piano even though I can’t play the piano. Lol 🙂

Too young, too dumb to realize
That I should have bought you flowers and held your hand
Should have gave all my hours when I had the chance
Take you to every party cause all you wanted to do was dance
Now my baby is dancing, but she’s dancing with another man.

This song is so powerful and relatable. You can almost grasp the complicated emotions of sadness and sorrow just by listening to it. Bruno Mars’ songwriting, although nothing compared to The Beatles’ or Stevie Wonder’s, still appeals to my generation. When a Bruno Mars song comes out, you know it must be great.

5.) Highway Don’t Care- Tim McGraw featuring Taylor Swift and Keith Urban

I love country songs too and I love listening to Shania Twain’s and Taylor Swift’s songs every once in a while.

“Highway Don’t Care” is a song that brings together three country music legends Tim McGraw, Taylor Swift and Keith Urban into one palatable, syrupy and heartfelt song.

It’s a breeze listening to the three of them together in a song as they have that “country connection” that is unparalleled. I even read some reviews from critics saying that the collaboration of Swift and McGraw is one of the decade’s best. Do you know that the first Taylor Swift single is entitled “Tim McGraw?”

I can’t live without you, I can’t live without you baby
I can’t live without you, I can’t live without you baby, baby
The highway won’t hold you tonight
The highway don’t know you’re alive
The highway don’t care if you’re all alone
But I do, I do.

This song is like a song within a song. Mcgraw who drives in a highway sings about what he thinks his girlfriend, Swift, is thinking and doing while the two of them is separated as they’re driving in the highway. A song is then played on the radio (the part sung by Swift) which perfectly describes what Mcgraw feels.

Mcgraw’s voice is full of flying colors. It’s also a delight listening to the soothing voice of Swift. It’s one of those songs that you’d like to listen while you’re travelling or when you’re just missing someone.

6.) Just Give Me A Reason- Pink featuring Nate Ruess

Well for me, this has got to be one of the best collaborations ever! I mean, you’ve got the underrated but superior performer  Pink who sang some of the coolest songs ever such as “So What”, “Sober” and “F*ckin’ Perfect” and Nate Ruess who is the lead singer of the band Fun which popularized the smashing hits “We Are Young” and “Some Nights”.

I’m sure this song touches everyone who hears it. It’s a power anthem (well at least for me) but still remains as sensitive and affecting as ever. Just like “When I Was Your Man”, I also imagine myself singing this song while playing the piano even though I can’t play the piano. 🙂

Just give me a reason

Just a little bit’s enough

Just a second we’re not broken just bent

And we can learn to love again

The song, according to Pink, is about holding on to a relationship even when it appears to be breaking down. How the hell did Britney Spears, who doesn’t even write her own songs became more successful than this powerful singer right here?

It is no surprise that a bunch of singers tried to sing it on TV like Amber Holcomb who was my favorite contestant in American Idol Season 12 and Michelle Chamuel in The Voice US Season 4, but both failed to deliver the emotions and supremacy that Pink has.

This is currently my favorite song and I love singing it even though my voice miserably breaks down in the process.

“One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.” –Bob Marley

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About erwinagapay

A music and movie lover, aspiring author and filmmaker, and a junior student at the University of the Philippines Diliman.

Leave a Reply

