My UPCAT Journey

I know I’ve been neglecting my blog for quite some time now so here I am trying to compensate for it by persuading myself into writing another insightful and fresh blog post. (Naks, ipush na talaga ito hahaha 🙂 ) I know I’ve been a lazy ass lately especially this week wherein classes were suspended for the whole week, at least in Muntinlupa, so I was bestowed an abundant serving of precious time, giving me lots of opportunities to be productive. As a senior high school student, the word “time” is in line with the words food, clothing and shelter. Being given a handful of time is already a rare privilege for us so we always want it to use it to our own advantage by being extremely productive. Unfortunately though, I’ve been doing otherwise, well at least this week. This day I was off to my usual routine: sedentarily cramming watching movies, listening to songs, chatting with classmates, liking and commenting on my friends’ photos in Facebook and tweeting into a hefty ten hours of sitting in front of the computer screen. How I wish I have the ability to easily translate all those random and creative thoughts, insights and reflections that materialize in my persnickety mind every single day into a blog post. If only I was paid to write a blog. Oh well. Hahahaha joke lang.

diliman

I want to be in U.P. Diliman so badly! It’s just simply my dream school and it is where I can best envision myself growing and developing as a college student. No matter how repetitious or annoying those other schools are in rubbing to our faces that they are the best school in the country, I still believe that U.P. is the premier and bona fide best university in the Philippines and no amount of advertisements, TV commercials or beautiful volleyball players can change that belief of mine. If I were to make a list of the best schools in the country, UP would certainly take the first to seventh spots as I think there is just a huge gap between UP and other universities in terms of quality. I want to study in a school that has produced forty National Scientists and thirty-seven National Artists. I want to be in a university where respected and well-rounded people who have excelled in their respective careers chose to spend their college years. I don’t think my college life would be as fun and complete if it won’t happen in a school that fosters great minds and where the sun kissed fields and trees that breathe air full of wisdom and love are juxtaposed with the elegant structures and halls that have stood the test of time. Well, there can only be one way (at least legally) for a senior high school student like me to enter UP after my graduation and that is passing the legendary and yes, dreaded UPCAT.

Last summer, I was immersing myself in forums where people talk about their respective UPCAT experiences and blog posts of people who have taken the mother of all entrance exams. Well I got different tips, a lot were contradicting but most were useful anyway. I remember someone saying that he did not review yet he still passed! That was really cool. Some wanted to be a little sure by enrolling in review centers. The idea of enrolling in a review center never crossed my mind and neither did my parents contemplate about it. Aside from being expensive and I didn’t want to have a commitment in the summer break (it was supposed to be a break from the tiring school year, for God’s sake), the idea of paying a certain amount of money to be taught things that one should have already learned in his last three years in high school and to be given a false hope of passing the entrance exams just seemed completely absurd for me. Some say it is effective though and I respect that. It’s still a matter of personal preference at the end of the day.

upcatre

I convinced my mom though to buy me two MSA reviewers which cost at least P750 if I’m not mistaken. Since I’m not the biggest fan of Math and Science, I only answered all the English and Filipino sub tests of the aforementioned reviewers. Hahaha. I remember I only gave attention to the reviewers for at least a week and didn’t mind it afterwards. The vacation spirit dominated in me and I thought that I’d only forget the things I reviewed when school starts. In short, tinamad na talaga ako. When the school year began, I forgot about the UPCAT for a while and focused more on the present. Being a senior student is really cut-throat! A day wouldn’t pass without a difficult quiz, a home work, an out-of-this-world project or a combination of all three. Nung traffic sa EDSA, 12 ng madaling araw na ako nakauwi at kinailangan ko pang gumawa ng mga assignments nun. Anyways, as days go by, I was becoming more and more paranoid so I asked my classmate if we can have a review session in a weekend. Since I didn’t join their summer review classes in school, I thought I can get something from his reviewers. As usual though, I only reviewed the English subtest of his reviewer. The following week, I was with my ex-classmates for what was supposed to be a review session for the UPCAT, yet it turned out be more of a pizza eating session.

Fast forward to August 2, 2013 (since this is getting lengthy and I’m not yet on the UPCAT day itself). The day before the UPCAT, I was already paranoid and nervous as hell! We were fresh from a retreat at Laguna Hills (I can’t imagine it was already our last seminar/retreat! 😦 ). I was off to my usual routine that day and since it was the first Friday of the month, we were supposed to have a student assembly by the afternoon. Whenever we had free time during that day, Daniel, Ian and I would sneak into the library to cram our Math notebooks from first year to fourth year! I was paranoid that Math topics such as ellipse, circle and all the trigonometric stuff would come out in UPCAT, and did I mention that on my way to school, I was actually memorizing mathematical formulas written on my worn-out Math notebooks while on the bus? Sure, I was really desperate and my mind kept on telling me that I should have reviewed last summer. I should not have been complacent and lazy. I should have used all the time in the world last summer to review. I was having last minute regrets!

lastmemory

Like Joel in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, I also wished I stayed. I wished I listened. I wished I reviewed. But like him, I also realized that I couldn’t turn back the time.

I was telling my friends that I was already feeling a bit cold, and that I could already feel the air conditioner in the National Institute of Physics. Hahahaha. 🙂 Inside the school auditorium, all of us seniors were talking about the UPCAT, and since the speaker for the virtue of the month was our Filipino teacher, who happens to be a U.P. alumnus himself, we asked him some tips about UPCAT and he gave some vague advice. Luckily, our school principal, who is also an alumnus of U.P. and has already proctored the UPCAT, let us stay in the auditorium for a little while and gave some valuable advice about the exams. During that time, I was already feeling anxious as I was counting the hours left before the big day. I was in the first batch of examinees so I had to wake up really early! On my way home, I bought some baon at Market! Market!, most of it were Goya chocolates and Oreo. When I arrived home, I collected all my Math notebooks since first year, my Science, Biology and Chemistry notebooks and put it in a bag together with my baon, all the materials I need and a good old rosary. It didn’t help that I belong to the biggest batch of UPCAT examinees in history! I’m just one of the 83, 000 examinees who are fighting for the highly-coveted spots in the country’s premier university. I was anticipating the quantity though because I remember that our graduating batch in elementary consisted of 945 students. Beat that! 😆 So you see, I just contradicted myself big time in saying all those stuffs about people going to review centers, since there I was desperately trying to cram all those things just hours before the exam itself! So shame on me. Really.

“Bakit ka kakabahan eh magtetest ka lang naman dun?”

My mom was vexed of me cramming. I said I was just nervous, so after her litany about how I barely reviewed last summer, she told me, “Bakit ka kakabahan eh magtetest ka lang naman dun?” I said, maybe she has a point. I won’t go to U.P. to sing or dance or act or show some flesh. I’ll go there just to take a test. I carried that mantra the following day. So I woke up very, very early, took a bath, ate a very heavy breakfast and drank only a glass of water instead of the usual two, because I don’t want to go out of the room to pee once the exams start. So we waited for Ate Grace then rode a taxi to U.P. Diliman. Ate Grace also came with us last January when I took that AJSS exams in Ateneo. Originally, I was convincing my mom to just ride the MRT but since it opens at 5 am, she was worried that we might be late. We left at 4:15 am and was already at U.P. at around 4:45 am. So you see, all those notebooks I brought with me were left untouched. 🙂 Little did we know that another dilemma was waiting ahead of us. I didn’t know where National Institute of Physics was! Or I really did. Actually, a month before, me and my ex-classmates went to U.P. to check out our testing centers. It’s just that it was too dark that morning! We had to ask several people for directions and after a long and vigorous walk slash exercise; we finally arrived at the National Institute of Physics! Oh, I just love to say National Institute of Physics repeatedly. It just sounds so sophisticated! Hahahahaha. Well, my classmates were saying that our testing centers have some kind of connection to our course choices which is pure bogus, since my course choices were BA Journalism, BA Film (Diliman) and BA Sociology and BA Philosophy (Los Banos). Where was the Physics part in that? Or did I miss something? In a way, I was thankful that my mom wasn’t much of a stage mom when it came to my decision in choosing a course unlike those ultra stage moms who forced their children to take those heavyweight science and computer courses that their children didn’t really like.

Oh UP Map! Hahahaha

Oh UP Map! Hahahaha

So I was already wearing my sweater (anticipating the temperature inside the room) and eating some candies while waiting outside the venue. Little by little, lines were starting to form and people of different sizes, clothing and companions started to arrive. Some had their own cars while some rode a taxi. But we all have something in common, and that was the persevering dream of being an Isko or Iska. The strong family ties of Filipinos were very evident in the UPCAT. I noticed some examinees brought their whole families with them! Some even brought big food containers, water jugs and coolers. Nahiya pa ata sila ate, sana nagdala rin ng kalan, kawali at kaserola. Camping lang po ang peg? Hahahaha Kulang na lang buong bahay eh dalhin na rin nila. When the sun rose, we were asked to form two lines. As I was nudging my way, I was getting a bit emotional leaving my mom behind. Naks ang drama! Joke lang syempre! 😆 hahahahaha. It was more of a Hunger Games moment wherein Katniss was slowly walking forward while Prim was shouting from behind. From then on, I was armed with the determination, confidence and spirit to bring my A+ game on. I noticed a girl who was still holding on to her reviewers and was telling her father how hard the Math items were. I just ignored that and thought to myself that I had to face the consequences of my decisions. I still believe that if it is meant to be then it will happen.

upcathg

We were guided to our room. Ours was the one where a small plaque saying (nonverbatim) “This room was donated by Sen. Miriam Defensor Santiago in her belief of strengthening the foundation of Science in the Philippines.” or something to that effect. For a while, her angry voice entered my mind. I took my seat and I’d say that the room was very nice and beautiful. The chairs where arranged like those in a theater, actually the room seemed like a small theater itself. Thank God I was kept warm by my pangmandirigmang sweater. Some girls in the room were wearing those really short shorts! I wonder how they stayed focused on the exams despite the temperature inside the room. We were given those instructions booklets and we were told to write our names then shade the corresponding circles, like all those stuffs that we do in NAT. We had three proctors, two females and one male. Well, I shouldn’t have brought a pencil because the proctors will give you one in case you need it. But anyways, A+ for me for bringing all the necessary materials. 😀 Our proctors were very kind, at least during the exams. We were also told that UPCAT is right minus one-fourth wrong. Ihing-ihi na ako nung mga panahong yun at kating-kati na akong lumabas ng room.

I was at number 5 or 6 in the Language Proficiency test when I raised my hand, gave my test permit to the proctor then ran my way to the comfort room! Since I was paranoid as hell, I ran my way back to the room and continued my exams. Fortunately, I didn’t feel any pressure and my nerves were really calm while I was taking the test. As expected, I nailed the Language Proficiency Test. (Naks ang kapal! Hahahaha) Then the hard test came. Science! Grabe ito talaga ang bagay ang bumabagabag sa isipan ko eh. Confident na sana akong papasa ako kung wala lang itong Science part. Halos karamihan dito shinotgun ko. Pero intelligent shotgun naman.

So Math part came. It was actually a good surprise. It wasn’t that hard as I expected! Topics such as circle, ellipse and trigonometry didn’t show up! Though there were a number of items that I wasn’t completely sure of, I think I still did a pretty decent job. Reading comprehension part was draining because I had to read the whole stories, since in order to answer the questions, you really need to know the nitty-gritty of the whole story. Thank God that being the fast talker that I am, I’m also a fast reader. I think I also did a pretty decent job in this part. If I were to rank the tests in order of how well I fared in them, the order would be Language Proficiency-Math-Reading Comprehension-Science. Oh God, just when I thought that Math would be my greatest adversary. That’s why all the courses I chose were Liberal Arts. 🙂

I came out of the room with a smile and a sense of accomplishment. I felt like a thorn was pulled out of my chest. I felt like I survived a mental and psychological battle that I have been fighting for months. We rode the LRT and MRT on the way home and ate at KFC branch at Ayala MRT station to satiate our hunger. Somehow, there was a hope that flickered in my heart saying that I’ll pass. When I arrived home, I took another bath, posted a Facebook status saying, “Yeah! Finished the UPCAT! Papasa ako, tiwala lang.”, 🙂 (At tandang-tanda ko pa daw talaga.) Hahaha then decided to take a short nap at around 5 pm not expecting that I’ll wake up the following day! The next day I was like a lunatic imagining things like me writing the wrong PIN or identification number in the answer sheet. That was really funny! That’s the downside of having an over-thinking mind, sometimes it becomes like that of a wife suspecting his husband of having a mistress.

But I’ll just leave it up to God. I knew I did my very best. If it’s really for me, then it will happen. There are still other schools there anyway, though nothing comes close to U.P. Actually, I’m not feeling any pressure for ACET right now in contrast to how I felt about UPCAT which brought the paranoid out of me. It’s really hard to expect knowing I’ll just be depressed if I’ll fail to pass. I should just use the remaining months of my senior year in making the most out of my last year in high school, and allotting my energy to things that would be significant for my future, instead of worrying about things that might not just be meant for me. If there is one thing that I learned from my UPCAT journey (well, there’s a lot!), it’s about taking responsibilities. The cliché “Time flies so fast” is indeed true that’s why we always have to make the most out of every moment and cherish every single second of our lives because we never know what lies ahead of us. Surprisingly, I may not have gained a lot of knowledge in my failed “review sessions” for UPCAT, but the whole process of it is the biggest learning experience itself. As what they say, sometimes it’s not about the destination but the journey itself.

So, maybe I’ll just keep you posted on the results in February, right?

Wish me luck guys! 

SAM_1216

Masaya naman ako pagkatapos ng exam. Salamat sa pangmandirigma kong sweater na medyo mas manipis naman nang kaunti sa mukha ni Janet Napoles. Hahaha

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About erwinagapay

A music and movie lover, aspiring author and filmmaker, and a junior student at the University of the Philippines Diliman.

55 responses to “My UPCAT Journey”

  1. Nicole says :

    What an interesting read! I know it is almost three years since you posted this, but wow! Congratulations on passing the UPCAT. I must say I am facing the same problem with having multiple (and failed) attempts to successfully review on Math and Science (which is the core of UPCAT, I suppose? Yikes!), but after reading your entry, I had a change in perspective.

    I think it was because I just found no inspiration in studying before for the upcoming entrance exams. Parang labas pasok nga lang sa aking tenga ‘yung mga impormasyon! Kailangan ko lang pala bigyan ng interes ang aking pinag-aaralan, at kailangang ko intindihin mabuti ang aking binabasa. Hindi ibig sabihin na nagbasa ka tungkol sa isang paksa ay agad kang matututo at makakakuha ng mataas na marka sa exam.

    Wish me luck to this year’s UPCAT! UP Diliman is my dream school, and I must say that I have been grateful on taking my studies seriously for the past 3 years that I have been in the higher ed. More or less, 40% down, 60% more to go. I heard nga rin na binabaan ng UP ang quota nila this year! If that is right, my batch must be really lucky! Hopefully by August, I don’t need luck but faith in God and in myself! Haha. Kung makapasa nga man ako sa UP, it’d be a pleasure to meet you! But I guess I’ll cross the bridge when I get there! 🙂

    • erwinagapay says :

      What degree program will you be taking?

      Best of luck to you, Nicole! Have faith in yourself and answer every question as if your life depends on it. Hehe 🙂

      • Nicole says :

        Hopefully BS Psych! Ateneo just released their app forms this Monday and so, the college “vibes” are sinking in! 😆😆

        • Nicole says :

          Hi there! I’m not sure if you constantly check this, but I happened to pass BS Psych in Diliman. Reading this blog post surely helped me! I guess I’ll see you around if ever! 🙂

  2. anon says :

    what was your UPG? 🙂

  3. Merla says :

    Congrats..so happy to read a post like this.ok ba yung school na UA&P. what school is this.my son will take the UPCAT this coming august.can you give me some advice on the actual exams coverage specially on math and science.mahirap ba ang actual exam?kc mahirap daw ang tinuturo sa review.

    • erwinagapay says :

      Thank you po 🙂 Yes, magandang school po ang UA&P. I advise your son to apply for scholarship if he would like to consider it. As for the coverage of UPCAT, it varies every year po eh. Last year po, yung Science test, more on chemistry and some biology stuff po. Yung Math naman po, may Algebra at may mga logarithm and factoring po. Personally, medyo nahirapan po ako sa Science part, pero medyo nadalian na po ako sa iba, lalo na po sa English since favorite subject ko po. 🙂

  4. jane says :

    Nakaka inspire po yung article na ito ^_^ magtatake rin ako ng upcat this coming august and this made my day .. thanks ,, more power to this blog of yours

  5. Ali vergel says :

    Congratulations on passing the UPCAT.

    I hope my son will do the same when he take the exam next year.

    All the best for you

  6. anonymous says :

    Congratulations on passing the UPCAT 😀
    Results just came out today.

  7. Nanay Gina says :

    Iho, pagkatapos kong tingnan sa listahan ng pumasa ang pangalan ng pamangkin ko (na pumasa naman), saka dalawa pang pangalan na kakilala ko, ikaw kaagad ang pumasok sa isip ko. “Ano na nga pangalan ng batang ‘yun nag nag-post sa Overheard ng UPCAT Journey?”. I had to patiently scrolled down because i knew other Overheard readers remembered your post, and I was hoping that they remember to congratulate you, too:-) You made your parents proud.

    Happy Birthday, Merry Christmas, and Congratulations, Agapay Erwin Bariuan!

  8. Alvin says :

    Are you in anyway related to the Agapays of Cabusao, Camarines Sur?

  9. Maxine says :

    Hi! 🙂 I’m so grateful for having to come across your website, it’s inspiring especially for an anxious Senior-who’s-going-to-take-UPCAT-in-two-months like me. After reading this, it kinda eased my troubled mind, really. I’m a Senior from across the globe, in Middle East to be exact, so that might answer your question as to why I’m taking my UPCAT late.

    I really love English, like you, but I’ve still got a lot of room for knowledge yet to be known. Sadly, I’m torn between BS Psychology and BA Journalism/Broadcast Communication. I’ve already asked some people who want to pursue a course in the field of Sciences, so that’s why I thought maybe I could ask you your thoughts about this as well since you’re someone ardent in writing. 😀
    They say to go for what I really love, but I just couldn’t pick between the two. Like, what should my first choice be and such? I just thought it would be different coming from a same aged person but with the same interests as mine. If you don’t mind, that is. 🙂

    UP really is my dream university, I’m glad people out there blog about their insights, journeys and feelings about these kind of stuffs. I hope I gain the fighting spirit I’ll be needing soon. You’re a student who’s great beyond words. I wish to meet you someday at UPD’s Plaridel Hall! 😀 (if ever I get to pass Upcat!)

    Please keep writing to inspire great minds. God Bless and, may the odds ever be in our favor. 🙂

    • erwinagapay says :

      Thanks for the very nice comment! I feel like you’re genuinely nice and yeah, I do hope we get to see each other in the halls of UP so let’s pray we’ll pass! 🙂

      Choosing a course is a very significant decision in one’s life. I know some people who were very sure in the courses they chose only to find themselves shifting from one to the other course when they are already in college. Aside from being physically toiling, shifting can also be emotionally and financially draining on one’s part that is why it is important to follow your heart in choosing your own course. Well that’s just me though. Some people who don’t have the means in life would tend to sacrifice by choosing courses which give them the chance to have lucrative jobs after finishing school. Well from the information you’ve given, I’ll presume you’re financially capable, maybe even beyond. 🙂

      Just follow your heart. In the end, it’s not your parents, your friends or your relatives who will have to endure the pain of studying something you don’t really want. Nobody wants to have regrets when he or she grows old thinking what could have happened if he or she did this or that.

      Like you UP is also my dream school. May the odds be also in your favor. 🙂

      P.S. Follow me on Twitter hahahahaha 🙂

      • Maxine says :

        You know what, you’re right! Thank you so much for that, at least now my ambivalence kind of ripped off between those courses I chose. I think I’ll be really going for BS Psychology and BA Broad Comm. I just needed a little voice in my head telling me to go for what my heart tells me to do. (cliche but hahaha!) Tomorrow will be the deadline for our UPCAT form; this really helped! 🙂

        And hey thanks for saying that haha, nice really. 🙂 I’ve really got a lot to say, (even though we haven’t gotten to know each other yet but really I get excited befriending writers haha!) but I’ll leave this short reply for now.

        P.S. Btw I followed you on twitter already. 🙂 I’m @Maebee18

  10. Ana says :

    Hi! I saw your post at Overheard and I’m blessed very inspired with your writing. Dream big! Kailangan natin ng mga ganitong bata para sa ating bansa! I wasn’t allowed to go to UP as an undergrad since it was too far as my parents said. I’m the youngest in our family and we were based in the Visayas. UP was my dream school as well, ever since I was a child I really wanted to be a scientist. After graduating in college and passing the board exams I found myself applying in UP as a graduate student, and this time my parents gave in seeing that its really what I want. After finishing my graduate studies am now working as a research associate in a national institute here in UP and serving a boss who’s a UP scientist. Its such a blessing and honor to be working with the great minds of our country. I hope you’ll keep your dream alive even when you don’t get in but I do believe that you will 😉

    God bless!

    • erwinagapay says :

      Wow and you are one of the great minds in our country. 🙂 That was really inspiring and thank you very much for the words of encouragement! God Bless 🙂

  11. Doom says :

    Naalala ko tuloy yung mga panahong tinatanong ako ng karamihan kung sa UP ba ko mag-aaral. Firm na firm ako sa pagsagot ng hindi kasi ang rason ko magastos sa damit. Hahaha. Last minute nga yung desisyon ko sa pag-fill up nung forms. Pero, ito, proud Iska na. 🙂 Goodluck sa’yo! 🙂

  12. Patik Bernardez Serra says :

    Nice… Nakakaenjoy basahin ng UPCAT experience mo.. And you are really a good writer.. 😀 Ganyan rin ang experience ko nung nag UPCAT ako last year… Sobrang tense na tense…

    Tama lang na di ka nag-enroll sa review centers kasi waste of money lang yan … atsaka pwede ka naman magaral via internet eh kaya good decision 😀

    Malaki rin tyansa mo makapasa 😀 Galing mo kaya sumulat.. ahahaha..Basta dapat mataas din ung grades mo since 1st year up to 4th year HS ka kse 40 percent yun ng magiging grade mo sa UPCAT 😀 Mahirap talaga ang Science dyan, Pangpanosebleed lang ang peg.. Ahahaha 😀

    Basta pray to God and Tiwala lang.. Papasa yan 😀 Ako nga nakapasa pero UPB nga lang for the program of BS Management Economics at aminado akong hindi naging maganda ang pagsagot ko sa UPCAT ko… hahahahha.. 😀

    GOOD LUCK AND GOD BLESS!!

  13. Lunaculi says :

    Somehow, I laughed after reading this blog post of yours. We’re, like, polar opposites, that’s why. You crammed like hell ‘just’ for the UPCAT; I did nothing but sleep a week before the big day. (MY big day was last year, just saying.) You popped out a proton after the Big Bang; I an electron. And lastly, you are sided on Liberal Arts; I on Sciences.

    That aside, hands down before you. Your writing is commendable, and is truly worthy of praise. If writing prowess was a good basis for judging whether an UPCAT taker would pass or not, I should (and must) assume that you’re going to pass. (Oble na yan!)

    Hope you make it to the flagship. And if you do, see you somewhere within the campus grounds.

    P.S. You an excellent writer; I a master of none.

    • erwinagapay says :

      Naks naman, kakatouch naman po hahaha 😀 Thanks for the kind words, and I really do hope I’ll pass! I’d like to really stay positive about it. 🙂

      And you too are a great writer. I actually read some of your blog posts, and magaling po kayo! Promise 🙂

  14. morningblues says :

    Hi! Napunta ako dito because of your overheard post! 🙂 Great blog! I think medyo malapit na ung time na you get to be paid to write! Medyo hahaha (ok corny.)I admire your writing. Mahilig kasi ako magbasa lalo na ng mga YA books, but I’m not a good writer.

    Goodluck sa UPCAT. Tip lang, kung di ka makapasa meron ng ‘reconsideration process’ that will be based on your UPG and your percentile scores for each subtest. Not everybody kasi who passed tumutuloy ng UP diba? kaya basta pasok ung UPG o ung percentile scores mo sa cut-off, the admin may reconsider you. Mag-research ka lang about it. 🙂 Hindi naman nakakahiya yun. Mas nakakahiya ung mga may ‘connections’, back-door policy kumbaga, na nakakapasok sa UP.

    Meron pa ba nung essay question this year? 😀

    • erwinagapay says :

      Wow naman natouch naman po ako sa comments niyo. 😀 This year po tinanggal na po yung essay thingy sa UPCAT, sayang nga po eh inabangan ko pa naman hahahaha.

      Thank you po sa encouragement and tips. I appreciate it a lot. 🙂

  15. mark castro says :

    Ang galing niyo naman po gumawa ng composition. Ang gwapo niyo pa. #kilegzz

  16. rose anne says :

    Sana makapasa ka! 🙂 God Bless You.
    I’ll be waiting for your name on the list of UPCAT Passers! 🙂

  17. Napoles says :

    anung sabi mo!?!

  18. brenda says :

    claim it! God bless you! 🙂

  19. Aiedrian Camposano says :

    Bat wala ako dun sa mga nag cram sa UPCAT before the actual tests? HAHAHAHAHHA Really inspiring kaya nga idol kita eh(When it comes to English and Reli) Two thumbs up keep it up Erwin 😀

    P.S. : Malapit na yan mag 25,000 tiwala lang

  20. peppermench says :

    Your Overheard at UP post brought me here. Inspiring! :)) Sana makapasa ka sa UP.

    • erwinagapay says :

      Thanks po ate! 🙂 Sana nga po at makapasa ako. Nakakahiya naman kung hindi gumawa pa ako ng pagkahaba-habang blog post about my UPCAT experience tapos babagsak pala in the end. Huwag naman sana. Hahahahaha. Salamat po ulit. 🙂

  21. Teff says :

    Hello, hahaha. I stumbled upon your post on Overheard and being the ever curious person, I decided to check out your blog. Which, by the way, is a decision I didn’t regret as your blog is really wesome. You’re a great writer and really, your blog posts are quite inspiring and reflect my ideas as well. Are you a staffer of your school paper? The way you write reminds me of one. 😀

    And by the way, I’m a senior high school student in Manila Science High School. I love English, and I just love writing articles, stories, and stuff. I plan on starting my own blog soon, as well as another joint blog with some of my classmates who love writing as well. Can you give me some tips on how to manage my own blog? If it’s not too much trouble, of course.

    I really hope I meet you someday, and of course, see you strolling in the tree-shaded avenues of U.P. Diliman next school year. I really hope I can be a future Iska, and an Oblation scholar, at that. Really high dream, but anyway, hahaha. I talk too much. Sorry, it’s just that I’m really enthusiastic when I encounter writers and other inspiring people. 😀

    More power to you and your studies. Continue posting great updates on your blog as well, you have another supporter! God bless. 😀

    • erwinagapay says :

      Naks naman salamat. Wow taga Manila Science edi sure UPCAT passer na yan! Hahahahaha 😀 Sad to say, I’m not a part of our school paper kasi dalawa yung high school units sa school namin, the Day School ( the regular students and the really rich ones, and when I say rich, yun mga anak talaga ng mga politician, businessmen etc.) and the Afternoon School which is comprised of scholars. I’m part of the latter. The really good school organ or the school organ itself is yung sa mga Day School students. Yeah it’s something that I wish we also have considering that I really love writing and I used to be the editor-in-chief of our school organ in elementary.

      Anyways, if you also wanna blog, then go for it! It’s a very nice hobby especially if you wanna pursue writing in the future or you just love to write. It also hones your writing skills and you can gain friends among your co-bloggers. WordPress is the best choice by the way. 😀 You can write almost anything you want, whatever pops out of your mind. Yun nga lang, bilang senior high school students tayo, we’re super busy lagi kaya it’s really hard to maintain a blog.

      If you want, do add me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter. Yeah I also hope to meet you soon. Thank you so much and good luck on our UP dreams! 🙂

      • Teff says :

        Really, I’m not sure kung papasa ako, hahaha. Your sentiments on the UPCAT are really identical to mine. 🙂 Oh, sayang naman, you’d be a great journalist, hahaha. Sorry pala Kuya kung medyo FC, pero…ganun talaga ako minsan, hahaha. Finollow kita on Twitter ah? @GCsiTeff yung username ko. Thank you Kuya! Ang inspiring ng blog mo. 😀

        • erwinagapay says :

          Hahahaha hindi ka naman masyadong FC! Sakto lang hahaha joke! 😀 Yeah, aside from UP, did you also apply for other schools? I also applied for Ateneo and will also apply in La Salle and UST. 😀

      • Teff says :

        Yes, I did. I applied for La Salle, UST, and UA&P. Sadly, hindi ako nakapagpasa sa Ateneo kasi may misconceptions on the schedule, so yun. Medyo nakakabitter. 😦

        • erwinagapay says :

          Aww. Ako naman hindi ko natapos yung mga recommendation forms sa UA&P which is a shame considering it’s a really great school and libre na sana yung exam fees. Nagtest na mga classmates ko kahapon para sa scholarship. Anyways, I still hope it’s UP in the end. What courses did you choose in UP by the way? 😀

      • Teff says :

        Hindi rin ako nakaabot sa UA&P, pero I’d still try, anyway. It’s a great college option. As for my courses, I chose BS Business Economics and BS Economics. I really love business matters as well, and I’m planning to try Law after this, although I know Econ is not a good pre-Law course. Still, it’s what I like, so why not. 😀 I’d also like to be a free-lance writer someday. 😀

      • Teff says :

        Ikaw rin kaya, hahaha, bigatin ang courses. 😀 IKR, hahaha. Good luck to your studies, as well. Mahirap talaga fourth year, hahaha. I expected it would be easy because that’s what everyone else says, pero pamatay talaga. o.O

  22. Patricia Isabelle Dela Cruz says :

    You write very well. It was a very entertaining and fresh read for me. I laughed at some parts and I understood where you’re coming from as I was once an UPCAT taker. 🙂

    Oh yeah. I like your humor. Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

